top of page

Productivity Prep: a Form of Procrastination?

We spend a lot of time thinking about being productive. We have lists and notebooks and apps where we keep our goals and ideas. We follow YouTube channels and subscribe to blogs and perform Google searches, all in the hopes of finding that one thing that might inspire us or motivate us to be more productive.


Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay


Lately, I've had the sneaking suspicion that I'm using all of these things as a form of procrastination, all while tricking myself into believing that every minute of my organization and research is a form of productivity in and of itself. And, if used in moderation, I guess it would be.


However, I think I spend more time preparing to be productive than I do producing anything. If I spend 90% of my time in preparation, but only 10% in creation, am I actually doing myself any favors?


So my goal for the rest of this month is this: instead of binging on productivity podcasts or spending countless hours optimizing Notion, I'm going to resist the urge and pick up something to do instead. God knows, I won't have to look very far to get started. I'll just start with an item on an already-existing list, and dive right in.


First stop: Text the 5 people I'd like to have as guest teachers here in our studio.


I have three questions for you:


1. Do you think you spend too much time in the stages leading up to productivity?

2. What's first on your list of things to tackle today?

3. Do you have any tips for keeping your nose to the grindstone?

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page